A Great Good Place - The Book Which Inspired Our Name

$17.50
ISBN-13: 9781569246818
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Da Capo Press, 7/1999

MARY MCNEAR, "UP AT BUTTERNUT LAKE"

Apr 17 2014 7:00 pm

San Francisco writer Mary McNear joins us to read from her new novel "Up at Butternut Lake" on Thursday April 17th at 7:00pm.

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs, Mary McNear introduces readers to the town of Butternut Lake and to the unforgettable people who call it home.

It's summer, and after ten years away, Allie Beckett has returned to her family's cabin beside tranquil Butternut Lake, where as a teenager she spent so many carefree days. She's promised her five-year-old son, Wyatt, they will be happy there. She's promised herself this is the place to begin again after her husband's death in Afghanistan. The cabin holds so many wonderful memories, but from the moment she crosses its threshold Allie is seized with doubts. Has she done the right thing uprooting her little boy from the only home he's ever known?

Allie and her son are embraced by the townsfolk, and her reunions with old acquaintances—her friend Jax, now a young mother of three with one more on the way, and Caroline, the owner of the local coffee shop—are joyous ones. And then there are newcomers like Walker Ford, who mostly keeps to himself—until he takes a shine to Wyatt . . . and to Allie.

Everyone knows that moving forward is never easy, and as the long, lazy days of summer take hold, Allie must learn to unlock the hidden longings of her heart, and to accept that in order to face the future she must also confront—and understand—what has come before.

Mary McNear lives in San Francisco with her husband, two teenage children, and a high-strung, minuscule white dog named Macaroon. She writes her novels in a local doughnut shop, where she sips Diet Pepsi, observes the hubbub of neighborhood life, and tries to resist the constant temptation of freshly made doughnuts. She bases her novels on a lifetime of summers spent in a small town on a lake in the northern Midwest.

$14.99
ISBN-13: 9780062283146
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow & Company, 4/2014

Location: 
Street:
6120 LaSalle Avenue
City:
Oakland
,
Province:
California
Postal Code:
94611
Country:
United States

Michael Chabon at GGP - October 16, 2013

Michael Chabon reading for GGP

 

On October 16, 2013, GGP welcomed Pulitzer Prize winner Michael Chabon at a reading at Montclair Presbyterian Church. Michael read from his latest book, "Telegraph Avenue." After the reading, Michael answered questions from the audience. In the video clip below, Michael answers a question about writing his Sherlock Holmes book "The Final Solution: A Story of Detection," and his love of language and writing.

 

$12.99
ISBN-13: 9780060777104
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Harper Perennial, 11/2005

Telegraph Avenue (Paperback)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780061493355
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Harper Perennial, 9/2013

Gayle Forman Reading at GGP - October 9, 2013

Just One YearWelcome sign for Gayle Forman On October 8, 2013, GGP welcomed Gayle Forman to read from her new book, Just One Year. Ms. Forman was introduced by Nina LaCour, author of The Disenchantments. The evening included a hard-fought trivia contest testing knowledge of Ms. Forman's writing! A fun evening!

For descriptions of Ms. Forman's wonderful books, click on the links in the book list below.Gayle Forman and Nina LaCour at GGPGayle Forman at GGP

Just One Year (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780525425922
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Dutton Juvenile, 10/2013

If I Stay (Paperback)

$9.99
ISBN-13: 9780142415436
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Speak, 4/2010

Just One Day (Paperback)

$9.99
ISBN-13: 9780142422953
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Speak, 8/2013

Where She Went (Paperback)

$9.99
ISBN-13: 9780142420898
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Speak, 4/2012

Alice McDermott Reading - October 8, 2013

SomeoneOn Tuesday evening, October 8th, National Book Award winning author Alice McDermott read for an appreciative GGP crowd at Montclair Presbyterian Church. Ms. McDermott discussed and read from her new book, Someone. "Someone" chronicles an ordinary life lived by an ordinary woman —its sharp pains and unexpected joys, its bursts of clarity and moments of confusion.  

Ms. McDermott selected for her reading a section of the novel recounting the first meeting of a young couple, and how she brings him home to meet her family.  In the section read by Ms. McDermott, the young man tells the story of how he was captured in World War II by the Germans, and how he survived his capture.

After the reading, Ms. McDermott answered questions for the audience.  She told how she creates her characters by understanding how they would feel in a given situation.  On a character named Fagan, she told the story of how the character's knowledge of his Dickens' namesake and the tradition of professional mourners shaped the character.

Ms. McDermott closed with praise of independent bookstores like Great Good Place for Books, and the communities these stores foster. 

We have some video from the event that we hope to post excerpts from soon, but until then, here are a couple of photos, and a link to her book should you want to read more about it or order a copy.  

Alice McDermott Alice McDermott answering questions at GGP reading

Someone (Hardcover)

$25.00
ISBN-13: 9780374281090
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 9/2013

Three of Kathleen's Favorite Books

Three of Kathleen's favorite books arrived this week: "Two Boys Kissing" by David Levithan, "The Beginning of Everything" by Robyn Schneider, and "Counting by 7s" by Holly Goldberg Sloan. If you'd like us to hold a copy of one of these books for you just let us know, or you can order online from our website at the links below.

Two Boys Kissing (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780307931900
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers, 10/2013

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780062217134
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books, 8/2013

Counting by 7s (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780803738553
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Dial, 8/2013

Eleanor & Park - A Staff Pick from Krystle

As Krystle put it, "This book is for anyone who wants to experience or relive first love."

Eleanor & Park (Hardcover)

$18.99
ISBN-13: 9781250012579
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin, 2/2013

Occupy Your Heart! Anne and Sam Lamott at GGP - April 18th, 2013

On the evening of April 18, 2013, GGP welcomed Anne and Sam Lamott for an evening of reading, laughs and wisdom. 

Anne and Sam started the evening by browsing the store, leading Anne to start her comments with an appreciation of GGP as an example of "a good honest bookstore, crowded with books, not mugs."

Anne and Sam then read from the book they co-authored, "Some Assembly Required," about Sam and Anne's respective adventures as a father and grandmother.

In the discussion after the reading, Anne shared her perspectives, including a comparison to Charlie Bucket in Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory: "To be an artist is to have gotten one of the gold tickets, and I've tried to honor that."

Some more thoughts from the evening:

On the difficulty of writing: "Creation is like labor ... the enemy is the perfectionist ... all writers are doing multiple drafts. Life is about overcoming the critical voices in your head. Creation is often about taking stuff out."

On the difficulty of letting go: "Raise your children to leave you ... they need to begin their own heroic journeys." "Letting go, ungripping is hard. ... As a parent you want to be around the corner to give your kids sunscreen when they need it."

On the need to let go of your kids: "Kids don't need you to call saying 'Honey, pick it up, it is lonely mommy.'"

On the writing process: "Stream of consciousness is not interesting. ... A writer can't justwait for inspiration - you need to work on a shard of an idea, untangling the chain." You need to start writing, even though the real start of your work will be at page 7, and the first seven pages were just getting your feet wet." Writing is hard - it takes "elbow grease and keeping your butt on the chair."

Jax, the star of Some Assembly Required, is doing well - he recently complimented Anne on her technique in reading aloud "Green Eggs and Ham."

 

Sam's advice for new fathers:  "Enjoy fatherhood ... realize that you will be going slowly on your life path for a few years ... you will be very busy."

Recalling an embarrassing incident related in Operating Instructions, Anne shared her insight that life can be embarrassing every step of the way, but "laughter is carbonated holiness." 

Anne on being present in your life:  "Be where your feet are."

"We are walking percussion instruments - our hearts are beating. Fill your heart - occupy your heart!"

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781594486678
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Riverhead Trade, 4/2013

$15.95
ISBN-13: 9781400079094
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Anchor, 3/2005

$6.99
ISBN-13: 9781623150761
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Garamond Press, 2/2013

Upcoming 6 events

Syndicate content